From Misconceptions to Advocacy: Understanding Harm Reduction

Jamie Hairston
3 min readJun 3, 2024

Disclaimer: The information provided in this article is for educational purposes only and should not be considered a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition. If you are in crisis or need immediate assistance, please contact the SAMHSA National Helpline at 1–800–662-HELP (4357).

When I was in grad school, I realized I needed more experience in the mental health field before seeking an internship. I found a temp agency in Phoenix that allowed me to try various work settings. I worked in a boy’s group home, a detox center, a crisis center, and a group home for adults with Severe Mental Illness (SMI). These experiences provided diverse perspectives and skills. I often worked overnight shifts, assisting with patient care and intake processes. I found a strong connection with detox patients, which reinforced my sobriety and offered empathetic support to those in recovery.

Up until this point in my life, I had always believed that medication-assisted treatment was a way for the person with an addiction to continue getting their fix. This setting helped me realize that is not the case and that it is an integral part of harm reduction treatment. I learned that medication-assisted treatment is a vital part of harm reduction, challenging my previous misconceptions.

--

--

Jamie Hairston

Jamie is a former addiction counselor who now writes fiction about substance abuse and mental health issues.